Home » Uncategorized » The Impatient Homeschooler

The Impatient Homeschooler

The Impatient Homeschooler
by Gena Suarez, The Old Schoolhouse Magazine (Mon., Oct. 31, 2011)

I have learned something about myself over the years. I keep thinking maybe this will be the day (or year?) I’ll “get a hold” of a certain issue and fix it. And my problem is a spiritual one–many problems are. It has to do with patience: you know, “long-suffering.” Whether it’s with my husband and kids, or with those whom I work, or patience with my current situation (whatever that may be at the moment), the quandary is still the same. I’m not even patient with myself; I notice I scowl even when I make mistakes that can’t be helped. I’m impatient.

In the past, I have wondered about patience. Some people come across really unruffled, calm, and carefree. Even if they are going through a crisis or their lives are turned upside down, somehow they are marked by patience, demonstrating an even-tempered and soft approach to their problems. I’ve often thought, well, it comes natural to some, but others (like me) have to work at being patient. Some of us don’t have that natural talent. But is it a talent? And how *does* one “work at being patient”?

Read more:

http://www.crosswalk.com/family/homeschool/encouragement/the-impatient-homeschooler.html

Paul and Gena Suarez reside in Gray, Tennessee, or Northern California (depending on when you ask!), where they homeschool(ed) their six children: Paul (22), Luke (20), Levi (18), Julia Rachel (15), Susanna Hope (4) and Chloe Abigail (2). They enjoy long country drives in the van while listening to books on CD, hanging out with good friends, and staying up late. By the grace of God, the Suarez family founded and continues to publish The Old Schoolhouse® Magazine, LLC.

Leave a Reply

