Home » Uncategorized » Dominik Hauser and Four Instrumental Interludes from Scrooge

Dominik Hauser and Four Instrumental Interludes from Scrooge


Dominik Hauser is a Swiss-born American multimedia composer, orchestrator, and arranger.  Originally from Switzerland, Hauser received his education at the Jazz School St. Gallen in Switzerland, earning a masters degree in music. His talent extends from composition and arrangement to instrumental performance, including bass work for jazz-funkers The Ruleless.  He relocated to Los Angeles, CA, in 1996, to focus on film scoring.   Also he re-entered the education arena and teaches at the Musicians Institute in Hollywood.  His studies took him to UCLA where he delved deeply into film scoring. Hauser has also published three books, including his third book, Beginning Jazz Bass.

Hauser’s talent brings cinema to life and can provide lush musical backing for any artistic endeavor. His beautifully evocative instrumental compositions support the mood of every scene for the audience.  He is the recipient of the coveted Prix Walo and has taken the stage at the Montreux Jazz Festival. Subsequently he took his skills to the realm of indie cinema and began composing for film. Hauser was a privileged participant in the ASCAP film-scoring workshop in 2000 and elevated to semifinalist status at the Young Film Composer Competition in 2002. Hauser has worked on films featuring such superstars as Vin Diesel (“The Chronicles of Riddick”) and Charlize Theron (“Aeon Flux”).

Hauser says his secret to effective music is simple – the composer has got to make contact with the listener. That quest for emotional potency brings terrific focus to his creative process. Hauser’s music invariably elicits powerful reactions. His inspirations range from revered classical composers to modern musical geniuses, though his work is uniquely his own and derivative of none.  His work involves him in a variety of projects, including cinema, theater, and video games.

The following work by Dominik Hauser is contained in my collection:

Four Instrumental Interludes from Leslie Bricusse’s Music for Scrooge.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s