Home » Uncategorized » Growing With an Appreciation of Music

Growing With an Appreciation of Music

Growing With an Appreciation of Music
Lea Ann Garfias
Crosswalk Home Homeschool Life Newsletter (Tuesday, September 27, 2011)

One of my earliest recollections is of my father singing. I still remember him rocking my younger sister to sleep every night in the creaky maple rocker, singing “Amazing Grace.” That simple melody and uncomplicated text naturally became ingrained on both our hearts. My sister and I can still sing every verse, if tears don’t choke us up.

There was always music in our home. My mother sang constantly. Loud, lusty singing was the soundtrack of housecleaning, cooking, and errands. My infamous bout with chicken pox, during which I infected the entire church kindergarten class and my baby sister before breaking out myself, was also the beginning of my “Patch the Pirate” addiction. I soon wore out many a cassette tape as I loudly sang along with every character.

Read more:

http://www.crosswalk.com/family/homeschool/growing-with-an-appreciation-of-music.html

LeaAnn Garfiasis a homeschool graduate and classically trained pianist and violinist. She has taught private lessons and classroom music for over 15 years. You can ask her your own music or home education questions at http://www.whateverstate.wordpress.com .

This article was originally published in the Jan/Feb 2011 issue of HomeSchoolEnrichment Magazine. To learn more, and to request a FREE sample copy, visit http://www.HomeSchoolEnrichment.com

Leave a Reply

