Newman School, Knoxville, IL
Newman School, once located south of Knoxville on the Lake Bracken Road, was built in 1876. It was closed in 1948 when Illinois underwent a major school consolidation. In 1976 it was moved to its present location in James Knox Park, Knoxville, by the Knox County Retired Teachers Association for their bicentennial project. The school has been completely restored with authentic furnishings. With dinner pails on the shelf, the wash pan on the stand, desks with inkwells and old lesson books, the school represents the 177 rural schools once located in Knox County. Every year hundreds of school children visit the school. Some classes spend the day, arriving in antique cars, to experience what school was like in their grandparent’s day. Reading lesson are from McGuffey Readers and arithmetic is done on slates. Retired teachers who once taught in similar schools give the lessons. The school is maintained by the Knox County Retired Teachers Association with proceeds from an annual ice cream social held on July 4. It is open to the public during the Knox County Scenic Drive or by appointment.