Historic Zoar Village
198 Main St.
Zoar, Ohio 44697
Zoar Village was founded as a communal society in 1817 by a group of 200 German religious dissenters called the Society of Separatists of Zoar seeking escape from religious persecution in their homeland. These Separatists thought that the church should be simple and bereft of all ceremony; they emphasized a mystical and direct relationship with God. They thrived as a unique Society for more than 80 years, from 1819 to 1898, making Zoar Village one of the most successful communal settlements in American history. Today, Zoar Village is made up of approximately 75 families living in homes built from 1817 to the present. Visitors can tour the museums, see early American architecture, including two schools, take a walk in Zoar’s big public garden, and enjoy the quaint village scenery.
The new Zoar Village Schoolhouse, 254 E 4th St, Zoar, OH, is located on the hill above Fourth St. at Foltz St. The glass for the windows is the only product in the building not made in Zoar. Eight grades were taught here. Levi Bimeler was one of the last teachers for the Society. Some children from non-Society families came to this school to learn German. Public grade school was held in the schoolhouse up to about 1960. The building is Zoar Village property and was restored in the 1980s by the Zoar Community Association. It can be rented for community and social functions.