Home » Uncategorized » I Prayed for Zucchini; God Sent Me Lilies

I Prayed for Zucchini; God Sent Me Lilies

I Prayed for Zucchini; God Sent Me Lilies
by Mary Biever, Crosswalk.com (Aug. 1, 2011)
Zucchini is the gold standard of my summer garden. I can eat a zucchini, by myself, every meal, every day, for a month and enjoy every squash. This spring, as we began to plan our garden, the best squash took priority. We would raise them from seed and have 3-4 different varieties, different colors, to extend that gold standard season.
This became the year of the unexpected.
I didn’t count on a spring of rain.
I didn’t anticipate flash floods, including the afternoon our backyard had a foot of water in it.
A cold May, with wet ground, that delayed our planting season, surprised me.
Read more:
Leave a Reply

