This picturesque, one-room school was dismantled at Wooster’s southern edge and reconstructed on the campus of the Wayne County Historical Society, 546 E. Bowman St., Wooster, OH 44691. With its McGuffy Readers, dunce cap, and stool, plus a potbelly stove, it accurately recreates the atmosphere of a late 1800s learning center. This school building was originally one of five one-room schools in Wooster Township. Built in 1873 at the intersection of St. Rt. 250 (Dover Road) and McCoy Road, it was known as the “Number 3 School.” The last class was held here in 1939, it was then used for storage, and donated to the Society in the late 1960s. Amish workmen dismantled the building, and in 1973 the Society dedicated the reassembled building. The school house is furnished with local Wayne County treasures: reed pump organ; upright piano, manufactured by the Boston Company of Wooster in 1909; Shaw’s Self Explaining Music Chart, developed by a Canaan resident; a rare bass viola, built in the 1880s, by David Emery of New Pittsburg; antique writing pens; early typewriters; and 1856 map of Wayne County, showing early buildings, including the Beall House. The one-room schoolhouse is used for speakers and concerts, and is available for rent. Please contact the office at 330-264-8856 for details. The mission of the Wayne County Historical Society is to collect, preserve, and interpret artifacts and experiences that reflect the cultural heritage of the county for the education and enjoyment of present and future generations. The campus consists of six primary structures that offer visitors a unique opportunity to journey through Wayne County’s rich history — from pioneer days to the modern era.